Breakeven Point-Segment 1 "The Basics"
By: Ben Hollister, CPA, CMA
Breakeven point is the equilibrium point where total revenues equal total expenses for a business based on a particular mix of sales. It is a dynamic number. It never stays the same.
Do you know the break even point of your company or product line?
The Breakeven Point is calculated by taking your total fixed costsdivided by the gross profit per unit, net of all variable expenses.
Assume that you sold widgets for $2.00 a piece at a 30% gross profit with $6,000 of fixed costs: Your breakeven point would be 10,000 units.
Unit Sales Price $2.00 x 10,000 = $20,000.00
Variable Cost per Unit $1.40 x 10,000 = $14,000.00
Gross Profit per Unit $0.60 6,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $6,000.00 $6,000.00
Breakeven ($6,000/.60) = 10,000 units $ - profit
Assume that you sold widgets for $2.00 a piece at a 30% gross profit and had a reduction of fixed costs by $1,000: Your breakeven point would be 8,333 units.
Unit Sales Price $2.00 x 8,333 = $16,666.67
Variable Cost per Unit $1.40 x 8,333 = $11,666.67
Gross Profit per Unit $0.60 5,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $5,000.00 $5,000.00
Breakeven ($5,000/.60) = 8,333 units (17% Less) $ - profit
Just a $1,000 decrease in fixed costs, the company could sell 1,667 less units to breakeven.
Assume that you increased or decreased your sales price of widgets by 5% a piece at the same variable cost per unit of $1.40 and restored your fixed costs to the original $6,000: Your breakeven point would be 8,571 or 12,000 units, respectively.
Unit Sales Price $2.10 x 8,571 = $18,000.00
Variable Cost per Unit $1.40 x 8,571 = $12,000.00
Gross Profit per Unit $0.70 6,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $6,000.00 $6,000.00
Breakeven ($6,000/.70) = 8,571 units (14% Less) $ - profit
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Unit Sales Price $1.90 x 12,000 = $22,800.00
Variable Cost per Unit $1.40 x 12,000 = $16,800.00
Gross Profit per Unit $0.50 6,000.00
Total Fixed Costs $6,000.00 $6,000.00
Breakeven ($6,000/.50) = 12,000 units (20% More) $ - profit
A 5% increase or decrease in sales price, the company could sell 1,429 less or must sell 2,000 more units to breakeven since their gross profit per unit increased by $.10 or decreased by .10, respectively.
Some things to think about: a company forecasts lower sales due to a declining market, a company needs to know its breakeven point to determine what alternatives it has to remain profitable: (1) Reduce its fixed costs or (2) Increase the sales price of the product or (3) Reduce variable costs. Otherwise the company will have to operate at a loss during the decline. The examples above illustrate a couple of these alternatives. A reduction in fixed costs of $1,000, a company could sell 17% less items to breakeven. If the company was unable to reduce its fixed costs, but was able to manage a 5% increase in sales price, the company could sell 14% less items to breakeven or if they are forced to accept a 5% decrease in sales price, a company would have to sell 20% more just to breakeven.
The breakeven point examples above are simplified scenarios. Breakeven point calculations can become very complex depending on the amount of different products available. However, it is very important to determine your breakeven point when anything changes, such as adding a new product line, price changes, cost changes, in order to properly manage your business.
Upcoming segment of breakeven: Multiple Product Lines.